Posted on

It all started with a song….”Girls Behind the Bar”

“Well the boss was in a mood today and told me to leave early
So I take my truck to the local joint where the girls yell “Hey there honey!’
High five the girls behind the bar and end up spending all my money

So c’mon now, make them proud they’re our honkey-tonk superstars
And raise you glas and yell real loud for the — girls behind the bar!!”

I am a singer-songwriter in Chicago.  Most of the time I play in bars.  Usually the cutest, most pleasant and most sober people in the bar are the “girls behind the bar.” (GBTB)  They are usually nicest to me and the other players.   I assume most other folks in the bar have the same experience.

But most time the GBTB aren’t respected, complimented, tipped or even noticed.  But without them the waterhles we all go to would be dull, boring, unattractive places.

As honor and acknowledge their contributions to all our lives, I wrote the song.  Here is a video of a performance.  More to come.

“Girls Behind the Bar” live performance

Leave a Reply

